Album releases: September 2009

What to watch out for (or avoid!) in September...

Simple Minds
Graffiti Soul
Release: 1 September 2009 - W14 Music
"Not a sudden, flawless comeback, by any means, but for fans who’ve been waiting for Simple Minds to relocate their previous form, Graffiti Soul is well worth a listen." - The Telegraph

Rodrigo Y Gabriela
Release: 8 September 2009 - Ato records/Red
"While casual fans may miss the novelty of the duo’s more familiar classic-rock covers, these 11 originals show the duo expanding its sonic palette." - PasteMagazine

Yo La Tengo
Popular Songs

Release: 8 September 2009 - Matador Records
"While no seismic shift in direction, Popular Songs does find Yo La Tengo operating on peak form, both tightening the focus of their songwriting and giving freer rein to their more experimental leanings." - BBC

The Resistance
Release: 14 September 2009 - Warner
"...the album's first single is a worthy introduction to the grandiose, unpredictable whirlwind of a musical adventure that follows." - Play.com

Sort Of Revolution
Release: 15 September 2009 - Ninja Tunes
"Every track on Sort of Revolution would feel at home in a warm, European coffeehouse — you can practically smell the clove smoke and darjeeling aromas wafting through the speakers." -
Tiny Mix Tapes

The Boy Who Knew Too Much
Release: 22 September 2009 - Casablanca
"Indie dullards are habitually applauded for their labours, pop stars with panache less so. Yet this is as bold, daring and vibrant an album" - Qmagazine

Porcupine Tree
The Incident
Release: 15 September 2009 - Roadrunner Records
"One thing is certain, this is going to be a good year for Porcupine Tree" - Theseaweedfarm

Pearl Jam
Release: 22 September 2009 - Universal Music
"For their ninth studio album, the lasting grunge rockers in Pearl Jam decided to do it big." - Prefixmag

Zero 7
Yeah Ghost
Release: 29 September 2009 - Atlantic
"The chillout twins return with an album of cracking collaborations and songs to ease any hangover."- Daily Music Guide

Also out this month:
Vivian Girls - Everything Goes Wrong, Pete Yorn & Scarlett Johansson - Break Up, Jay-Z - Blueprint 3, Chad Smith's Bombastic Meatbats - Meet the Meatbats, Brand New - Daisy, Monsters of Folk [Jim James, Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis & M.Ward project] - Monsters Of Folk, The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart - Higher Than The Stars [EP], Alice In Chains - Black Gives Way To Blue, Paramore - Brand New Eyes.

1 comment: